www.playquiz2win.com

Battles in Indian History

List of important Battles in Indian History

Battles in Indian History	Details
Battle of Hydaspeas - 326 B.C.	Alexander defeated Porus.
Kalinga War - 261 B.C.	Ashoka defeated Kalinga.
First Battle of Tarain - 1191 A.D.	Prithvi Raj Chauhan defeated Mohammed Ghori.
Second Battle of Tarain - 1192 A.D.	Mohammad Ghori defeated Prithvi Raj Chauhan.
Battle of Chandawar - 1193 or 1194	Muhammad Ghori defeated Jaichandra Gaharwar.
First Battle of Panipat - 1526 A.D.	Babar defeated Ibrahim Lodi.
Battle of Khanwa - 1527 A.D.	Babar defeated Rana Sanga.
Battle of Ghaghra - 1529 A.D.	Babar defeated Mahmud Lodhi and Sultan Nusrat Shah.
Battle of Chausa - 1539 A.D.	Sher Shah Suri (Sher Khan) defeated Humayun.
Battle of Kannauj (or Bilgram) - 1540 A.D.	Sher Shah Suri (Sher Khan) defeated Humayun.
Second Battle of Panipat - 1556 A.D.	Bairam Khan (representing Mughal Emperor Akbar) defeated Hemu.
Battle of Talikota - 1565 A.D.	Ahmednagar, Bijapur, Golkonda and Bidar formed alliance and defeated the Vijaynagar empire.
Battle of Haldighati - 1576 A.D.	Akbar's forces headed by Raja Man Singh and Asaf Khan defeated Rana Pratap. Rana Pratap refused to surrender to the Mughal Power.
Battle of Karnal - 1739 A.D.	Nadir Shah defeated Mohd. Shah.
Battle of Plassey - 1757 A.D.	Lord Clive defeated Siraj-ud-Daula.
Battle of Wandiwash - 1760 A.D.	The English forces defeated the French forces.
Third Battle of Panipat - 1761 A.D.	Ahmed Shah Abdali defeated the Marathas.
Battle of Buxar - 1764 A.D.	The English forces defeated the alliance of Nawab Mir Qasim of Bengal, Nawab Shuja-ud-daula of Awadh

www.playquiz2win.com

	and Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II.
First Anglo Mysore War - (1767-69 A.D.)	Hyder Ali defeated the English forces.
Second Anglo Mysore War - (1780-84 A.D.)	Hyder Ali died in the battle (1782) and subsequently led by his son Tipu Sultan. The war concluded with the Treaty of Mangalore (1784).
Third Anglo Mysore War - (1789-92 A.D.)	The English forces defeated Tipu Sultan. Treaty of Srirangapatnam was signed.
Fourth Anglo Mysore War - 1799 A.D.	Tipu Sultan was defeated and killed by the English forces.

See also: Objective questions on important Battles in Indian History