You are here: Home >> GK Quiz >> History


Questions related to Indian History are an indispensable part of every competitive examinations conducted by SSC, UPSC, PSC, LIC, GIC, Railways, IBPS, etc. The main objective of these questions is to test the candidate's knowledge in Indian History. For this purpose we have provided more than 500 objective Indian History questions with answers for the candidates to enhance their knowledge in this area. All these questions had already been asked in various competitive examinations such as SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC TAX ASSISTANT, UPSC, BANK CLERK, BANK PO, CDS, NDA, CPO, PSC, LIC, GIC, RAILWAYS, etc.

Take 10 Questions Online Quiz on Indian History below:

1) Who was Francisco De Almeida?
A) English Viceroy in India
B) Portuguese Viceroy in India
C) French Viceroy in India
D) Dutch Viceroy in India

2) Which one of the following usages was a post-Vedic development?
A) Brahmacharya-Grihasthashrama-Vanaprastha-Sanyasa
B) Brahmana-Kshatriya-Vaishya-Shudra
C) Dharma-Artha-Kama-Moksha
D) Indra-Surya-Rudra-Marut

3) In which of the following Vedic hymns there is reference of the origin of four Varnas?
A) Purush
B) Nasadiya
C) Ushash
D) Almyani

4) At which place did Buddha die?
A) Kusinagara
B) Lumbini
C) Pavapuri
D) Magadha

5) Four resolutions were passed at the famous Calcutta session of Indian National Congress in 1906. The question of either retention OR of rejection of these four resolutions became the cause of a split in Congress at the next Congress session held in Surat in 1907. Which one of the following was not one of those resolutions?
A) National education
B) Swadeshi
C) Annulment of partition of Bengal
D) Boycott

6) Malik Kafur was General under which ruler?
A) Firoz Shah Tughluq
B) Muhammad bin Tughluq
C) Balban
D) Ala-ud-din khilji

7) Which of the following was the first metal to be discovered and used as tools by humans?
A) Iron
B) Gold
C) Tin
D) Copper

8) Which was the first state in the India to be formed on a purely linguistic basis, in 1953?
A) Andhra Pradesh
B) Tamil Nadu
C) Bihar
D) West Bengal

9) Which of the following was not one of the ruling dynasties of South India in the Sangam Age?
A) Chola
B) Chera
C) Pandya
D) Pallava

10) Which country was first to start a joint stock company to trade with India?
A) Dutch
B) Portugese
C) Danish
D) French

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now